The Coleman Peak 1 Feather 400 – a camping stove for keeps

This was the first of many stoves I’ve had the chance of using. My first encounter with this beautiful piece of equipment was in 1996 during my first hike up a mountain in Laguna (Philippines). I fell in love with it instantly.

Since I was a beginner, I didn’t have all the equipment I needed for the trip. Besides, there were only 6 of us and it was just a weekend getaway.

The stove was on its (probably) 6th year of service. It started beautifully and kept a good groove. It needed no priming since the Philippines is a tropical country and we’re only (approximately) 290 to 300 MASL (Meters Above Sea Level).

Whether turning down the flames for simmering rice or cranking it up to full blast, the Feather 400 works wonders. Its flame adjusts beautifully, and will keep working as long as it has fuel.

I’ve read some reviews online and here’s a testimony that really caught my eye. One owner said:

“Just pulled out my old model 400 from a drawer in the cellar after 20 years of disuse.
I noticed that is still had some fuel in it, so I took it outside for test. Wow, started up just like it used too. After a minute or two I had a beautiful, even, fully adjustable, blue flame. Remarkable.”

I also learned (the hard way) that filling the tank to 3 quarters of its capacity with fuel is best. That’s about 8oz of white gas. It provides enough space to generate pressure after pumping and will last for about 2 to 3 days of cooking full meals for 2 to 3 persons.

I bought mine 2 years ago (yes, it’s available here in Manila!) and I have not sent it to a service shop or worried about it wearing down anytime soon. It’s sturdy, compact and easy to use. Pump, light and go! Three easy steps – how simple is that?

I tried checking it out at Coleman’s website and I learned that the product is no longer available. They came up with a newer version though. It’s a dual fuel stove that burns both white gas and unleaded gasoline – the Feather 442. But that’s another story.

Here are the specs. In case you’re curious.

Specifications

Weight without Fuel: 1lb 6oz
Weight with Fuel: 2lb 1oz
Dimensions: 6 3/8″ x 4 5/8″
Fuel Type: White Gas
Fuel Capacity: 11.8 oz
Average Boil Time: 1 Qt. – 4.5 min.
Burn Time, High: 1 hr 15 min
Burn Time, Simmer: 2 hr 20 min
*BTU’s: 7,500

* British Thermal Unit – In North America, the term “BTU” is used to describe the heat value (energy content) of fuels, and also to describe the power of heating and cooling systems, such as furnaces, stoves, barbecue grills, and air conditioners.

I’m looking forward to handing it down to my son; but not anytime soon.😉

One Response to “The Coleman Peak 1 Feather 400 – a camping stove for keeps”

  1. hala i have the same stove din..hehehe

Leave a Reply

