Letters, Ink and Ambigrams

I have always been amazed by ambigrams.

I even wanted a tattoo inked in this unique form of art. So I seeked a little help to bring to life the tattoo design I had in mind and this is the result:

Anak - Ama - Guro

It spells, “anak-ama-guro” (son, father, teacher) both ways (upside down or right side up).

I consulted with a tattoo artist (from Chris Garcia Tattoos) and asked if it would look okay to ink it on my chest like it was curving from the left shoulder to the right – like it was necklaced on me (I’m not very articulate right now, so forgive me if I can’t describe it clearly).

He said it’s ok and added that normally, ambigrams are best placed on the forearms for best effect.

We then agreed on a price and I was sincerely considering having it done right away. I didn’t want to have it done right there (I visited their booth at a tattoo convention) amidst the hullabaloo, so I opted to have it done in their shop somewhere in Project 6, Quezon City one weekend.

I was also considering this design:

Pinoy - Pride

But after some thought, I sort’a didn’t want it.

Because what I really want is to expand my existing tattoo to my left chest and back. But I still haven’t finished the design.😦

7 Responses to “Letters, Ink and Ambigrams”

  1. i❀ ambigrams! you actually introduced me to them. i’m not a big fan of tattoos but i liked it enough to have it as my phone’s wallpaper.

    i also read about your existing tattoo. i’m excited to see what it’ll look like when it’s finished.

  2. Thanks Nyl!

    I’m glad I inpired you in some way.

    Thanks for visiting my blog!πŸ™‚

  3. Nice man…πŸ˜€

  4. Thanks bro…πŸ˜€

  5. Hello, thanks for the good “, Ink and Ambigrams at d.gormful.com” post. Would it be possible, that i can write a story about this post in our local newspaper? I would be really happy if i can do this and i will give you a link from a german blog too. Please answer. Greetings Goldpreise

  6. Goldpreise,

    Thank you for taking time to read my entry.
    Yes, you may write the article (assuming that you still haven’t and that my response is just in time) for your newspaper.
    I’m glad you enjoyed the post and are willing to spread the word!πŸ™‚
    Let me know how it turns out, okay?πŸ™‚

  7. I love your great tattoo post, good stuff. I like to have my own tatsπŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

