Sweet Ride

Yep, that’s my ride; I got her on New Year’s Eve (31st of December, 2009).

What a nice way to welcome the New Year, huh?🙂

Actually, I wanted to go for something with a larger displacement, something fit to cruise the freeway. I looked around and found a beauty. Too bad, I don’t have enough to take her home. So I dismissed the fact that I would be able to get myself a proper gift before the year ends.

So I opted to just look at pictures and read stories of people who twist the throttle.

But fate had different plans for me.

Since I was very young, I’ve always wanted to learn how to ride a motorcycle. No one in the family had one, so I learned how to ride a bicycle instead.

That’s when the love for cruising on two wheels began.

So there I was, surfin’ the net and was looking around some tabs on my browser. I refreshed one and a new ad appeared. Not even a day old (read: 17 hours). Curious, I checked it out. And I was surprised to see that there was only one person who took interest and posted an inquiry. Not only that, I got more interested when I saw that she came in my favorite colors – Black and Red.

I immediately called the owner and advertiser, and asked if I may meet her (yes, the owner was a woman) and see the bike. It was a short conversation which ended in an almost closed deal.

That same day, I asked a family friend if he can accompany me in checking out the bike – he agreed.

The next day, I went to an ATM and took out the sum I needed to make the purchase. I wanted it so bad, I can almost taste it.

The seller and I met up on the agreed time and place. When I saw the bike, I wasn’t disappointed. The owner’s husband told me the bike’s story and answered my questions. Bobby, the family friend was there checking out the ride. I asked the man to fire up the bike. He inserted the key, turned it, and she purred like a kitty – and I was in love.

After the money and keys exchanged hands, we went our separate ways and boy, was she a head turner! Not only because she’s drop dead gorgeous, but she has loud, open pipes to let everyone know she’s coming.

“Loud pipes save lives” – Harley Davidson.

The next day, I knew I just had to get rid of the graphics added on to the tank and fenders by the former owner. My ride had pink butterflies and flowers. The helmet that came with the bike even had matching paint of pink on black. I guess that’s why people couldn’t stop looking.

So that morning, I prepped the tank, the fenders and even the helmet for a fresh coat of paint. It took me hours just sanding the parts, another half hour covering the rest of the bike with newspaper and tape. After the final (clear) coat was sprayed, I looked around and realized, it was almost dusk when I finished – but it was all worth it. She looks like she’s ready to go to a show.

I currently am in the process of getting a transfer of ownership and all the other paper works polished. I also have a few modifications in mind.

I’ll post them as soon as it’s underway.

‘Till then, ride safe and ride responsibly everyone. 🙂

4 Responses to “Sweet Ride”

  1. “My ride had pink butterflies and flowers. The helmet that came with the bike even had matching paint of pink on black. I guess that’s why people couldn’t stop looking.”

    sana you took a picture of that! haha i would’ve loved to see it. hehe

    ride safely, d!😀

  2. Thanks Nyl!🙂

  3. Choi Alcabasa Says:

    Sir D, I just chanced upon your blog and saw this beauty.

    I really love motorcycles but I don’t want the ones tulad ng mga Honda Wave and Mio na usong uso hese days.

    I want a chopper/cruiser type of bike. I just don’t know where to start.

    Can you lead me to the right direction?

    Thank you very much Sir D.

    Bookmarked your blog.

    Choi Alcabasa

  4. Hi Choi!

    The motor was from a 2007 Blaze Hubs 110cc underbone.
    The frame, tank, fenders and everything else was crafted by Laguna Choppers, owned and operated by Elmer Reyes of San Pablo Laguna.
    You can find them in multiply.com. Search for Laguna Choppers.🙂

    Thanks for swinging by.
    Ride safe.🙂

Leave a Reply

