Refining The Details

Another weekend, a few more details. I know, I know… Late entry. I’m a busy person, y’know…

 

February 7, 2010, Sunday:

I had the weld spots filled and smoothed, installed the new stainless steel nuts, washers and bolts, and took the bare seat pan to the upholstery guy.

February 8, 2010, Monday:

Went back to my buddy’s place and painted the smoothed-out weld spots. My buddy Mike helped me cover parts of the bike with newspaper and tape. While I let it out to dry, I went back home and had a fight with a loved one😦 (but that’s a different story).

The new seat was ready for pick up at 4PM.

I remember wanting a thin, sexy looking seat (I was going for an inch of foam). Before I left Sunday afternoon, we agreed on a 2-inch insulation. Guess what? I ended up with a 3-inch thick ass pad. The upholsterer (is that what you call ‘em?) said that the rivets would punch through thin foam and would bring me discomfort while riding.

My father taught me to never argue with the experts.

So I took the seat, paid the man, and went on to install my new bum catcher.

It looked okay (I really wanted the sleek look)…

But it was soooo much better when I took my beauty for a spin!😀

Dad was right! “Never argue with the experts”, he would say.🙂

I guess the upholstery dude was thinking of function over form! It felt great sitting on that new seat. Besides, people won’t see how thick the seat is while I’m riding. What’s important is, it’s darn comfy! :p

 

Anyway, here she is:

How do you like her now?

 

More to come. Stay tuned!

6 Responses to “Refining The Details”

  1. she gets hotter and hotter everyday. baka mamaya mapaso ka na niyan. tenententenenten..ten!

  2. May score na ka’gad?😀

  3. oo naman! sariling sikap ito. lol

  4. Nyuk Nyuk Nyuk!😀

  5. seat too thick. looks like a sofa.

  6. @Pons:
    Yeah… That’s what I initially thought. It kind’a threw me off when I got it from the upholstery shop.
    But that’s all right I guess, It’s not a show bike anyway. I’d like the comfort of sitting on a soft sofa while riding.
    Unintentional bonus: the girls love it too!😉
    So I’m thinking of just using it until I don’t like it no more, then have it reupholstered, or design a new seat altogether.
    By the way, I’m open to suggestions. If you have a seat pan design lying around, let’s have at it.
    Thanks for swinging by.🙂

Leave a Reply

